https://mcmillan.ca/cn/wp-content/uploads/sites/8/2020/12/Energy_01_mobile.jpg

能源

为助力经济发展和稳定物价,各国政府不断探索能源安全方案。不同国家对公私企业施行的不同法规进一步增加了竞争日益加剧的能源行业的复杂性。能源企业若要实现商业目标,就必须有消息灵通且经验丰富的律师顾问为其提供法律指导。

加拿大是全球能源市场的主要参与国,拥有世界上部分最大的石油储量。加拿大积极开展核能、可再生能源和替代能源创新,如风能、太阳能和生物燃料。铭伦的能源行业团队拥有加拿大和全球整个能源部门的丰富从业经验。我们为整个能源价值链的客户(包括高级、中级和初级石油和天然气公司、公用事业单位、可再生能源发电厂、替代能源开发商和金融机构)提供战略协助和战术性法律解决方案。我们全面掌握了能源交易流程与法规要求,能够为联邦和省级政府提供咨询服务。我们还与能源消费大户合作,组织各项交易,以实现其商业目标。

铭伦能源团队为包括核能、生物质能、风能、太阳能、天然气、水力发电、储能、区域能源、地理交换和需求管理等全能源领域的客户提供咨询服务。我们的专业人员曾服务于加拿大太阳能行业协会和安省能源协会,曾担任安省市场监督小组(Ontario’s Market Surveillance Panel)组长、加拿大能源委员会成员以及加拿大最大的市政公用事业单位总监。我们还帮助独立电力系统运营公司(前安省电力局)制定可再生能源标准供应计划——安省上网电价项目的基础计划。

电力和公用事业

铭伦能源行业团队成员包括曾参与电力行业受监管和不受监管领域的专业人士。凭借对能源法的深入了解,我们曾帮助策划电力市场,并担任加拿大和其他北美国家发电和热电联产客户的代表。电力和公用事业企业需要有法律顾问帮助其深入了解支撑该行业的复杂监管环境。

铭伦律师为客户提供的服务包括:就兼并、收购和资产剥离问题为客户提供咨询服务;协助客户设立开发项目并授予许可;为客户提供监管建议,代表客户应对监管部门和其他政府机构;为碳信用额买方和卖方提供咨询;就融资、分配及运作事宜为客户提供咨询服务;协助新进入者在加拿大开展运营;提供税收建议;以及与设备供应商、分包商和其他第三方开展协议谈判。

自然资源

加拿大以丰富的自然资源闻名于世,主要资源包括森林、石油和天然气、矿产、金属和水资源。只有掌握国际国内行业内外相关信息的律师才能就交易和不断变化的监管要求为客户提供最佳建议。铭伦的能源行业团队持续与政府、金融机构、投资和养老基金、原住民群体、环境部门和非政府组织展开合作,因此熟知他们的观点,并了解这些观点将会对加拿大和全球能源企业产生怎样的影响。

铭伦律师帮助客户应对非政府组织、对外投资、政府关系和社会经济问题;为政府和全球行业参与者提供矿产政策与战略建议;协助客户遵守加拿大环境法,以保护客户声誉和业务;代表原住民群体,并就涉及原住民群体的商业交易提供咨询服务;进行木材权和其他合同谈判;与我们的银行、企业、政府关系、诉讼和税务律师开展密切合作,为客户提供全面的业务发展方案;就与工程师、地质学家、探矿者、外国政府、监管部门、证券交易所和专家顾问的互动提供咨询服务。

可再生能源

铭伦能源行业团队专注可再生能源项目,持续奋斗在水电、生物质能、风能和太阳能领域的最前线,帮助北美客户实现项目构想。我们曾多次为兆瓦级太阳能和风能项目完成续租,起草工程、采购和建筑合同,并获取资金。我们的顾问团队曾服务于加拿大太阳能产业协会、安省能源协会以及安省电力局可再生能源标准供应计划。

铭伦律师为客户提供的服务包括但不限于 :协助客户参与安大略省的可再生能源回购计划,协助客户编写征求建议书和参与其他省份的招标;就可再生能源审批和其他环境审批流程提供建议;处理并网分配器和变送器事宜;协商股权和债务融资;以及执行尽职调查和可融资性研究。

替代能源

全球范围内寻找安全、可靠能源的工作正如火如荼地开展,石油与天然气替代能源的产量不断增加。加拿大积极展开多项替代能源开发项目,推出一系列鼓励研发和推广销售替代燃料(如太阳能、风能、地热能和生物质能)的计划。

铭伦律师对商业和能源创新有着深刻的理解。在风能和太阳能领域,我们已制定风能租赁方案和地役权范式和标准太阳能屋顶租赁模式,可供开发商用于屋顶租赁计划。我们还作为土地所有者和房屋业主的代表,按照类似的租约和地役权维护其权利。我们丰富的可再生能源租赁经验包括为数十个太阳能项目起草工程、采购和建筑合同。

铭伦能源行业团队通过以下服务帮助客户取得行业领先地位:倡导和制定有关替代能源领域管理法规的行业协会和政府机构;协助推行上网电价项目;在环境审批流程中提供咨询服务;为投资者、开发商、借款人和贷款人融资;对拟议项目开展尽职调查和盈利性研究;就绿色能源和可再生能源信用额买卖提供咨询服务。

blue mosaic shapes

相关专业领域

Wind generator turbine on summer landscape
Wind generator turbine on summer landscape
https://mcmillan.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/Energy_01_mobile.jpg

ENERGY

Governments around the world constantly look for energy security to power their economies, while also seeking price stability. The highly competitive energy industry has become even more complex as public and private enterprises are subject to a myriad of regulations that differ greatly from one country to the next. Achieving commercial goals in this industry requires informed and experienced legal counsel.

Canada is a key player in the world’s energy markets with some of the world’s largest oil reserves and innovation in nuclear, renewable power, and alternative sources such as wind, solar and biofuels. McMillan’s Energy Industry Group has deep experience across the entire energy sector, both in Canada and internationally. We provide strategic assistance and tactical legal solutions to clients across the entire energy value chain, including senior, intermediate and junior oil and gas companies, utilities, renewable power generators, alternative energy developers, and financial institutions. With an understanding of transactions and regulations we provide advice to governments at the federal and provincial levels, and work with major energy consumers to structure deals that meet their commercial goals.

McMillan Energy Group has advised clients operating across the entire energy spectrum including nuclear, biomass, wind, solar, natural gas, hydroelectric, storage, district energy, geo-exchange and demand management. Our professionals have served as counsel to both the Canadian Solar Industries Association and the Ontario Energy Association, as Chair of Ontario’s Market Surveillance Panel, as a Member of the National Energy Board, and as a Director of Canada’s largest municipal utility. We also helped the Independent Electricity System Operator (formerly, the Ontario Power Authority) develop the Renewable Energy Standard Offer Program, which was the basis for Ontario’s Feed-In Tariff Program.

ELECTRICITY AND UTILITIES

McMillan’s Energy Industry Group is made up of professionals with experience in the regulated and unregulated sides of the power business. With our deep understanding of energy law, we have helped design electricity markets and have acted for a variety of generation and cogeneration clients across Canada and North America. Companies involved in the electricity and utilities industry require legal counsel that brings an in-depth understanding of the complex regulatory environment that underpins the sector.

Among the ways McMillan’s lawyers is clients is by advising on mergers, acquisitions and divestitures; assisting with establishing and licensing development projects; providing regulatory advice and representation before regulators and other governmental bodies; advising buyers and sellers of carbon credits; advising on financing, assignment and operational matters; assisting new entrants with establishing operations in Canada; advising on tax matters; and negotiating agreements with equipment suppliers, subcontractors and other third parties.

NATURAL RESOURCES

Canada is known around the world for its abundance of natural resources including forests, oil and gas, minerals, metals, and water. Lawyers who understand its sectors inside and out, from both a Canadian and global perspective are best to advise clients on transactions and the constantly changing regulations. McMillan’s Energy Industry Group routinely works with governments, financial institutions, investment and pension funds, aboriginal groups, environmental agencies, and non-governmental organizations (NGO), and so we understand their points of view and how they relate to Canadian and global businesses operating in this industry.

At McMillan, our lawyers help our clients by advising on negotiations with NGOs, foreign investment, government relations and socio-economic issues; providing mineral policy and strategy advice to governments and industry participants globally; assisting with navigating Canadian environmental laws to help protect their reputations and business operations; representing aboriginal groups and counselling on commercial deals involving aboriginal groups; negotiating timber rights and other contracts; cooperating closely with our firm’s banking, corporate, government relations, litigation, and tax practices to offer comprehensive business strategies; and advising on interactions with engineers, geologists, prospectors, foreign governments, regulators, stock exchanges, and professional advisors.

RENEWABLES

McMillan’s Energy Industry Group has a focus on renewable energy projects and is at the forefront of developments in the hydro, biomass, wind and solar sectors, helping bring projects from idea to reality across North America. We have extensive experience renewing leasing, drafting engineering and procurement and construction contracts, and financings for dozens of megawatts of solar and wind projects. Our team has served as counsel to both the Canadian Solar Industries Association and the Ontario Energy Association, and were counsel to the Ontario Power Authority on the development of the Renewable Energy Standard Offer Program (RESOP). RESOP served as the basis for Ontario’s Feed-In Tariff (FIT) program

Among the ways McMillan lawyers serve our clients is by assisting with participation in Ontario’s FIT program, as well as RFPs and calls for tender in other provinces; advising on the Renewable Energy Approval and other environmental approval processes; dealing with distributors and transmitters on grid connection; negotiating equity and debt financings; and performing due diligence and bankability studies.

ALTERNATIVES

As the world continues to move towards safe and reliable sources of energy, the production of oil and gas alternatives increases. Canada is at the forefront of many of these developments, fostering programs that encourage the development and commercialization of alternative fuel sources such as solar, wind, geothermal and biofuels.

Our lawyers at McMillan understand the depth of business and energy innovation. In the wind and solar sectors, we have developed template forms of wind lease options and easements, as well a standard form solar rooftop lease that can be used by developers in their rooftop leasing programs. We have also acted for landowners and landlords in preserving their rights under similar leases and easements. Our extensive renewable leasing experience is matched by our experience drafting engineering, procurement and construction contracts for dozens of solar projects.

McMillan’s Energy Industry Group helps clients lead by counselling industry associations and governmental bodies as they advocate for, and create regulations governing, the alternative energy sector; assisting with feed-in tariff programs; advising on environmental approval processes; negotiating financing for investors, developers, borrowers and lenders; performing due diligence and bankability studies on prospective projects; and advising on the purchase and sale of green power and renewable energy credits.

News

blue mosaic shapes

Related Expertise

INSIGHTS (62 Posts)

post

Mandatory Vaccination Policies for Employees: Enforceable or a Shot in the Dark?

Read More
Dec 23, 2020